(855) 4-LEMON-LAW
(855) 453-6665

News and Information


Finalists Of The Best Car Of The Year Award Announced

According to a series of news agencies, the North American Car and Truck of the Year organization has recently announced the finalists for this year’s awards. The reports show that these vehicles are awarded by jurors who evaluate the vehicles for factors like handling, innovation, safety ratings, and real value.

Since jurors are subject to their own tastes and predilections, models are not chosen only by how well they perform. For an instance, Toyota still complains about the fact that the firm’s Prius model was passed over in 2001 for the insignificant Plymouth PT Cruiser.

In the past years, jurors have decided to start voting for vehicles with a more international outlook like the Range Rover and Volkswagen models that were awarded cars of the year in 2012. Detroit vehicles have received 10 awards so far while Asian vehicles have only received 4 awards. The Camry model, Toyota’s best selling car and the most popular vehicle in America, never made the finalist list.

Some of the main contenders for this year’s car of the year award include the Cadillac ATS, the Ford Fusion, the Subaru BRZ, the Scion FR-S, the BMW 3 series and the Honda Accord.

According to the news, the Accord model has made it to the top finalists in spite of the fact that the last couple of years were some of the most difficult years for the company. This year’s jurors like Hondas, specially the new Accord, however, experts believe that the odds are not in Honda’s favor this time around.

BMW has been present in ‘best car lists’ so many times that winning another year wouldn’t make much of a difference. Specialists think that the new model of the 3 series received faint praise, which could mean that jurors are not especially excited about this year’s model.

Jurors usually enjoy sports cars and because of that, the Scion FR-S and the Subaru BRZ have made the list of finalists. In 1998, the Chevrolet Corvette was the winner of the car of the year award, however, experts believe that since these two models are essentially the same cars, jurors may be split.

Amongst the models that are more likely to win is the new Ford Fusion. The new model is considered to be one of the most competent Ford vehicles, which is also part of Ford’s CEO strategy known as One Ford. Specialists believe that jurors may like this model over all other options, especially because of its Detroit roots.

In spite of what experts say, the outcome may always be completely different from what we expected. For the entire list and reviews of the vehicles that make the list of finalists, click here for the full article.

About the Author
The Vachon Law Firm is based in Southern California and focuses exclusively on consumer protection litigation.